Blog Challenge day 17 / Cholostasis Pregnancy

My Proudest Moment(s)

My proudest moment would have to be the birth of my children. I had a very traumatic birth with my daughter but a very good pregnancy. From the nurse trying to force her out with her hand to having to get a blood transfusion from losing way to much blood. I couldnt walk after having her for 3 months! At the end it was all worth it. I will never have another baby at that hospital nor would I recommend go there even to my worst enemy. She weighed 7 pounds 7 ounces and she cried all the first night as did I. (thanks to me eating oriental food then breastfeeding her) I had just turned 18 five months before I had her, I was very emotional.

Then came Gabriel. He was the opposite. I had a rough pregnancy and a very easy birth. I started my pregnancy with him in a rough place in my life and was soon brought back to life. I think of my son as my angel. He is my lifesaver. I also was diagnosed with Cholostasis pregnancy. This is a horrible thing to have. I noticed an itching on my feet at night that would get so bad it would keep me awake all night. I also had this sharp pain under my right side under my ribs. I went to the doctor for a usual checkup and when the doctor went to measure my belly he pressed down in that spot and I yelled. He said it was normal. It wasnt. Two days later I had a constant itch all over my body and he had me come in immediately to have blood drawn. My bile acid levels in my liver were crazy high. He had me come in every two weeks and then every week at the end. With cholostasis there is a risk for stillbirth past 38 weeks. I was induced the day after Christmas 2014. I was induced at 5:30 am and had him at 11:58 am. I didnt have painful contractions until 7cm. He came in at 7 pounds 3 oz.

If you ever have any of these symptoms and are expecting please get checked out and mention Cholostasis pregnancy to your ob. Get your bile acid levels checked. If your doctor says its not necessary, demand it. You can also find info and support at this website.

http://www.icpcare.org/

Leave a comment