Taste test with a 6 year old

Oh what fun

Yesterday after my daughter came home from school we were watching YouTube videos. It started off watching babies laughing then she clicked on one that said Blind Taste Test Gone Wrong. Then of course she had to try this. She told me she wanted to be blindfolded first so I went to the kitchen and put some things together. I went easy on her. She guessed almost everything right. The first thing was peanut butter which she doesn’t like. Next was a piece of cheese which she loves. Third was a cough drop just to make it interesting. Then a dried craisen, which she couldn’t figure out. Last was the worst and the funniest, squash baby food. She spit it everywhere.

Next was my turn to taste. She definitely made it interesting. First was a pickle which I knew that was coming because I could smell it on her hands when she put the blindfold on me. Next was a craisen dipped in baby food. UGH. Oh my I was not expecting anything like that and I couldn’t figure out what it was because I quickly spit it out.  She then decided the next thing would be not just a small dab of mustard but a squirt of mustard in the mouth. YUK. I like mustard but not like that. Lastly now I have to give it to her because she had no idea what was in this small white container so she decided to give it to me. It was spinach and artichoke dip from TWO WEEKS AGO. It had been pushed into the back of the fridge. Luckily it wasn’t rotten or anything but I could not figure out was it was, the texture was strange.

My dad was arriving home as we finished cleaning up our mess and Bella begged her popop to let her do it to him. He of course said yes because hes a great popop. But then when Bella said she was ready and he asked me to check and see what she picked I told him it was all good without really checking. He sits down next to me and im doing something with my son. She gives him the first thing. I hear some crunching and he says “what is that?” DOG FOOD and I busted out laughing. Then I look at the platter. So glad to see there was only 3 things total. So after the dog food was some baby food. I have to give it to my dad he didn’t spit anything out. But I know he wanted to. Last thing she doesn’t believe in the “less is more” saying. So she gave him a spoonful of lemon juice. Oh his face I couldn’t keep from laughing. It was the best. We had a really good time doing this. Will I do it again?? Of course. Will I peak…eh probably just so I don’t get dog food.

Leave a comment