Blog challenge day 20

A difficult time in my life

That would have to be my three year battle with drug addiction. It was rough to live the way I was living. Now that im sober I wonder why I did what I did. I caused so much pain for my family. I missed all that time with my daughter. Ill never get that time back. I gained my son who I love to pieces. His dad is gone for reasons I wont put on here. I used to say all the time that I would never do meth. I figured I could try it once and that one time turned into a three year downward spiral. I went from college student to junkie. Its embarrasing and I dont like to talk about it. I thank god that my family never gave up completely. If it wasnt for them and me getting pregnant I strongly believe I wouldnt be alive writing this right now. Im so much stronger now. To know first hand the life of a junkie and be lucky enough to make it out and get back to life, ill never go back. You think you’ll get away with doing bad but you wont. I learned the hard way. You dont have to.

“The mentality and behavior of drug addicts and alcoholics is wholly irrational until you understand that they are completely powerless over their addiction and unless they have structured help, they have no hope.”
― Russell Brand

Leave a comment