Weaning and no more co-sleeping

It is time to start weaning after breastfeeding my son through his first year. I have mixed emotions about this. I know that it is time to, im just going to miss that bonding time with him. The past two months or so the only time I BF him is at naptime, bedtime, and while co-sleeping. He seems to want to stay attached when hes sleeping with me.

At his one year check-up this past Wednesday his doctor suggested that I no longer breastfeed OR co-sleep. I think im going to miss co-sleeping as much as he is. Here is the hardest part; getting him to put himself to sleep in his crib. Last night he would not do it. As soon as I would start to lower him in his bed he would start to cry. So I gave in and he slept with me.

Today for him midmorning nap I breastfed him until he was close to being asleep and then put him in his bed. I gave him his bottle, his mickey mouse, turned on some lullaby music and went into the living room. He cried for maybe 5 minutes then I heard him playing for another 10-15. He yelled a few times and then nothing. Quiet. I tip-toe into the room to see him sound asleep. So proud of him for getting himself to sleep and myself for not giving in. Hopefully tonight will be the same. My baby is growing up too fast!

ANY ADVICE ON WEANING AND GETTING BABY TO SLEEP ALONE…leave me a comment I would love to hear any ideas!

Leave a comment